26
Oct
16

Obligation


*** DISCLAIMER – THIS BLOG IS FICTION AND THE AUTHOR IS NOT LIABLE FOR THE ACTIONS OF ANYONE WHO PERSISTS IN THINKING IT IS NOT FICTION ***

Unfortunately Adele has taken me at my word and asked me to obtain increased information from the prison.

This information is facts and figures which should not be leaving the prison, but neither myself nor Andy, the Human Police Representative, can see why she wants them.

The prison is not politically sensitive to Old Vampires or Humans. Such things are dirty words to Old Vampires and Humans do not much like them either.

However, Andy has obtained the correct information for me and is keeping a close eye on the situation.

Since Adele is my Obligator, I must do as she says until I pay her off and if I had the money I would not be working for a living.

I believe she is aware of my association with Columbine, who is the New Vampire in prison that I visit.

She has issued no instructions yet as to what I am doing with Columbine, but has dropped hints about her. I believe she wants deniability of the situation. It is not that Old Vampires are forbidden, socially or by law, to speak to New Vampires, it is just that people think it is distasteful to do it.

It is my opinion that all information may be useful at some time and this is the sort that if needed, could be very useful to some important people, who will not be ungrateful.

So I carry on as usual with this Obligation. I have taken pains to see that, while I cannot get out of it, it is easy for me to deal with.

I admit that part of this is because Adele has roughly the same allies that I have, so I do not have any conflict of interest.

The other part is that the jobs she gives me are easy and do not involve other people.

Glossary

Bonded Wedding Old Vampire marriage for political reasons

Common Status the point at where an Old Vampire becomes a real Vampire

Debutante Vampires before Dracula came out, vampires who had been newly turned vampire were taught the rules of society. They then “came out” when they were deemed presentable to vampire society as debutantes. They are the only Old Vampires who have a zero level of Status and are acceptable.

The Committee see The Committee to Regulate Non-Human Activity

The Committee to Regulate Non-Human Activity a committee that meets monthly and talks about affairs to do with werewolves, vampires and humans

Fence an Old Vampire fight in which they fight to the first blood using fencing

The Hunters see Vampire Hunters

Negatives Old Vampires with zero or negative points of Status.

New Vampires vampires who do not want to be Old Vampires, often live as Goths and hold down jobs. This started after Dracula came out.

Notice the Status Keeper serves a Notice on an Old Vampire whose Status has reduced to zero that they are in danger of becoming a Negative

Obligation when one vampire is under an obligation from another s/he has to do as they say

Old Vampires vampires who are polite society. Either turned vampire before Dracula came out or were turned after by an Old Vampire and decided to join the Old Vampires.

Parent the vampire who brought you up (if you are an Old Vampire) in polite society

The Ruler’s Men people employed by The Ruler to do anything she or he asks

Shun a vampire who has committed a sex crime is shunned on their release

Sire the vampire who made you a vampire

Status a ranking system which denotes whether you are an acceptable member of Old Vampire society, which is if you have plus points of status. See Negatives and Thousands

Status Keeper the Old Vampire in charge of the Status points

Thousands Old Vampires whose Status is over a hundred points

Vampire Hunters New vampires who hunt down those vampires who have committed crimes

Vampire Servants servants who are vampires themselves. Mostly Old Vampires, one of their functions is to repeat information and gossip to the Old Vampires they serve

Walk into the sun a euphemism for suicide

0 Responses to “Obligation”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Lonely Blogs

lonelyblogs.com blog directory

