18
Feb
11

Vampire Marriages


I became a vampire because of the lack of freedom I had.  I was fed up of being constrained by society and I didn’t want to marry.

My parents brought me up to marry well, which was not what I wanted.  I wanted to choose for myself, to not be beholden or answer to anyone else.

I did marry as a vampire, but that was out of necessity, whereas this would have been to increase the political or monetary fortunes of the family.

It surprised me that I enjoyed being married.  I had seen many women shackled to their husband and their kitchen, breeding brats and dying in childbirth.  I did not want to go the same way.

Then I did not know that marriages between vampires are merely window dressing, a convenient front for the humans watching.

If your vampire spouse is seeing someone else, then it will give the gossips something to talk about.

Spouses carrying on with someone else are nothing new, and if both of you carefully handle the situation then it can be turned into an advantage with the humans.

My marriage to a vampire turned out to have unforeseen benefits.  Jeffrey and I worked well as a team whether it was furthering our political ambitions, taking revenge over an enemy or simply having fun.  We had such good times.

I got used to asking his advice over decisions and stratagems.  In fact, I relied on it, which was why I felt terribly bereft when he disappeared.

Other times he has had to disappear I have known exactly where he is and have always been able to contact him, if I need to do so.

This time I have no such comfort.  Jeffrey would have known exactly what to do about my Obligation and how to go about it.

Glossary

Debutante Vampires before Dracula came out, vampires who had been newly turned vampire were taught the rules of society.  They then “came out” when they were deemed presentable to vampire society as debutantes.

The Committee see The Committee to Regulate Non-Human Activity

The Committee to Regulate Non-Human Activity a committee that meets monthly and talks about affairs to do with werewolves, vampires and humans

The Hunters see Vampire Hunters

New Vampires vampires who do not want to be Old Vampires, often live as Goths and hold down jobs.  This started after Dracula came out.

Obligation when one vampire is under an obligation from another s/he has to do as they say

Old Vampires vampires who are polite society.  Either turned vampire before Dracula came out or were turned after by an Old Vampire and decided to join the Old Vampires.

Parent the vampire who brought you up (if you are an Old Vampire) in polite society

Sire the vampire who made you a vampire

Vampire Hunters New vampires who hunt down those vampires who have committed crimes

Vampire Servants servants who are vampires themselves.  Mostly Old Vampires, one of their functions is to repeat gossip to the Old Vampires they serve

0 Responses to “Vampire Marriages”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Lonely Blogs

lonelyblogs.com blog directory

