04
Feb
11

Absence


You are probably wondering why I have been absent for more than a week.

It all started at a party.  For the first few hours I was content with making small talk and receiving information, but then I noticed a group of people playing a card game they called poker.

I enquired about the game and the next thing I knew I was sitting down to play.

It couldn’t hurt to play just one game and no money was on the table, so what could I lose?  It was just a bit of fun.

The next thing I know is it’s two hours later and Adele is saying that she isn’t happy with me.

I couldn’t see what she was making a fuss about, it’s not as if I was gambling, it was just a game for fun.

After the party broke up we moved to another castle to continue the game.  It was all going so well until someone said “why don’t we have a little bet on the side?”

The next thing I know it’s a week later and Adele is dragging me out of my host’s castle by the scruff of my neck and telling me about the large sum of money she has had to pay to cover my debts.

In short, I am not only indebted to Adele but I now have an obligation to her.  This means I am now her pet on The Committee, which is a very compromising position.

Obligations come before anything and anyone.  They take no notice of the fact that I have a couple of centuries on Adele and I am the more senior vampire.

She can ask me to jump and I will have to ask how high.  She can ask me to carry out her wishes on The Committee and I will have to.

I only wanted just one more game, to feel the high of winning, the low of losing, to recapture some of the fun in my life.  Just one more game.

Glossary

Debutante Vampires before Dracula came out, vampires who had been newly turned vampire were taught the rules of society.  They then “came out” when they were deemed presentable to vampire society as debutantes.

The Committee see The Committee to Regulate Non-Human Activity

The Committee to Regulate Non-Human Activity a committee that meets monthly and talks about affairs to do with werewolves, vampires and humans

The Hunters see Vampire Hunters

New Vampires vampires who do not want to be Old Vampires, often live as Goths and hold down jobs.  This started after Dracula came out.

Obligations when one vampire has an obligation to one another they have to obey the vampire they are obligated to

Old Vampires vampires who are polite society.  Either turned vampire before Dracula came out or were turned after by an Old Vampire and decided to join the Old Vampires.

Parent the vampire who brought you up (if you are an Old Vampire) in polite society

Sire the vampire who made you a vampire

Vampire Hunters New vampires who hunt down those vampires who have committed crimes

Vampire Servants servants who are vampires themselves.  Mostly Old Vampires, one of their functions is to repeat gossip to the Old Vampires they serve

0 Responses to “Absence”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Lonely Blogs

lonelyblogs.com blog directory

