21
Aug
10

Changes


*** DISCLAIMER – THIS BLOG IS FICTION AND THE AUTHOR IS NOT LIABLE FOR THE ACTION OF ANYONE WHO PERSISTS IN THINKING IT IS NOT FICTION ***
1989 and 1990 is when my whole life changed.

First my husband disappeared in June 1989, then the stock market crash of Black Monday in November 1989 took most of my money with it.

I put the castle on the market in January 1989 and it was sold within a few months.

I had to downgrade to the Victorian semi I now live in. It was hard enough getting used to life without a husband and a castle, but it soon became obvious the money I had left would not be enough to sustain an Old Vampire’s lifestyle, even one which had been pared down as much as mine. So I had to work.

It was all so new to me, but fortunately Adele saw me through it all as she owns a large recruitment agency.

Adele came down personally to help me out. She could have just left me to her manager and cut all ties with me. Instead she helped me.

A lot of people on her books are New Vampires who either still want jobs and/or do not have enough money to give up work.

She started the agency to help vampires change identity. On the face of it, it is a respectable employment agency. Behind the scenes, her employees (all New Vampire servants who want to become Old Vampires) help with all vampires’ documents.

It used to be that you didn’t have to prove your identity, you were who you said you were. It used to be that you could just walk in with your money and change things. Nowadays you have to have two different pieces of paper just to open a bank account.

When a vampire gets to eighty, it’s time to change identity. Our identities used to change at thirty, but now we can use the excuse of plastic surgery.

I was lucky. Some Old Vampires have no such friends to count on.

0 Responses to “Changes”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Lonely Blogs

lonelyblogs.com blog directory

