26
Jun
10

Addiction


*** DISCLAIMER – THIS BLOG IS FICTION AND THE AUTHOR IS NOT LIABLE FOR THE ACTION OF ANYONE WHO PERSISTS IN THINKING IT IS NOT FICTION ***

The main reason for my loss of money is my gambling addiction in the 18th century.

I entered a gambling establishment while chasing prey and I was curious about what was happening.

This time the prey could wait, so I indulged myself and enquired about the game, which led to me taking part.

I enjoyed the game and started coming back for more.  It was a harmless pastime which I indulged in once a month.

Then without noticing once a month became twice a month.  Then once a week.  Then twice a week and soon I found I was spending all my time there.

I can’t tell when I crossed the line from harmless pastime to addiction.

Addiction creeps up on you and seduces you with the promise of pleasure.  It doesn’t knock down the door and shout “here I am!”

I can still remember it clearly more than three hundred years later : the successes so sweet I could almost taste them, the losses that were just temporary setbacks, except they were not. 

I would have lost it all had it not been for friends who saw I was suffering, as not only was I losing money, I was devoting more time to gambling than to feeding myself. 

All that mattered to me were the cards, and vampires, like humans, will die if we do not get enough food.

My friends took me away from this.  They imprisoned me for fifty years, bringing me enough food to keep me alive.

And how I yearned for escape, to run to those cards, set my money down again and play with those four suits of cards.

It took me forty years to realise I was addicted and another ten to be able not to play.

And I still have the desire for cards.

0 Responses to “Addiction”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Lonely Blogs

lonelyblogs.com blog directory

