19
Jun
10

Castles


*** DISCLAIMER – THIS BLOG IS FICTION AND THE AUTHOR IS NOT LIABLE FOR THE ACTION OF ANYONE WHO PERSISTS IN THINKING IT IS NOT FICTION ***

The holiday was great.  I was feted at my friends’ castle and became the belle of the ball once more.

Two weeks of hunting, dancing and feasting with servants waiting on me by hand and supplying my every need – this is how my life should be.

I caught up with people : old friends, old enemies and old acquaintances.  

I found where people were, what they were doing and how their servants were.

It is good to see that most of the servants are Old Vampires still.  Unfortunately a few were New Vampires.

One of the highlights of my stay was a ceremony to induct Teresa Gorman, a New Vampire servant who has been serving for just over 100 years into Old Vampire servant status.

I enjoyed every second of my stay and I did not have to go out in the sunlight once.

It felt so good to inhabit the world I should, by rights, inhabit – and I only have myself to blame for it.

It was my fault and mine alone that I lost all my money by playing cards.  The thrill of winning.  The thrill of losing.  To chance all on the turn of a card or a roll of the dice – heady times, exciting times.

I had some capital left after I hit rock bottom.  But bad investments in the stock market, the crash of 1929, then Black Monday in 1989 finally finished my fortune off and I ended up marking time working in administration, of all things.

And now, back to my Victorian semi after a taste of what my life was before I was a fool and lost it all.

Lost the dancing, the hunting human prey in the forest with werewolves for dogs.  The blood flowing as freely as fine wine.  The richness of it all that only money will buy. 

I wish I had never picked up those cards.

0 Responses to “Castles”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Lonely Blogs

lonelyblogs.com blog directory

