02
Jun
10

Holiday


*** DISCLAIMER – THIS BLOG IS FICTION AND THE AUTHOR IS NOT LIABLE FOR THE ACTION OF ANYONE WHO PERSISTS IN THINKING IT IS NOT FICTION ***

I am going on holiday. It’s unusual for me to go on holiday at this time of year when the sun is shining, but I’ve been invited to Germany by some friends of mine.
I lost touch with them when fleeing the continent several centuries ago. The invite has taken three years to reach me, but that’s not uncommon when you lose touch.
I only received it last week as it had been passed from friend to friend, which is the traditional way of communication when you lose touch with someone.
This means that the invite is several hundred years old, but I have since got in touch with them. Firstly to check if they are still there and secondly to check if the invite is still standing.
It would not do to turn up as an unexpected guest. That would be the height of discourtesy.
So I am off to the Black Forest for two weeks of catching up and hunting. My German is two centuries old, so I’ll have to learn the language again.
It’s not that I have forgotten a lot of my languages from living in England, it is that languages change a lot over two hundred years.
A word that meant one thing then can now mean another. There will be new words for new inventions, other words will fall into disuse or be used for other things.
For example, in Jane Austen’s “Pride and Prejudice” the women are described as “handsome”. No woman in England today is described as handsome.
I will, of course, be speaking German the entire time on holiday. It really isn’t done to go to another country and have your hosts speak to you in English.
We vampires need to speak the language of countries we may flee too. Old vampires see the need for this, while New vampires don’t.

Marguerite Morris will be back in two weeks’ time

0 Responses to “Holiday”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Lonely Blogs

lonelyblogs.com blog directory

